NehaPandey

Monday, May 28, 2007

Dive in a pool..

After years of hiding away from swimming, I finally joined a club -an elite one. It has gym, sauna, Jacuzzi, squash. He he I can flaunt.

My mum was a great swimmer of her times. She was born n brought up in Haridwar and Ganga was her play ground (??). She would dive from the highest bridge, would cross whole across banks and even sometime fight out from a whirlpool and could beat all boys around in the mohalla. My dad is fairly a good swimmer too.. They learned swimming on their own... No high gear costumes, no life guards, no safe pool – a dive in nature’s creation and they could swim. And all would say to me - “You don’t know swimming!!” ... Yes, I didn’t – no one taught me, there are hardly few pools in shimla – ok ok I didn’t learn it ever.
And surprisingly I love water and have tried so many water sports. I did banana ride even when I didn’t know swimming- it was high time to learn and the best way to - beat Delhi’s heat. (It rhymes)

Finally, I got this chance and I joined the new fitness alley in my society. After days of laziness, pool opens at 6 am and finishes at 10 am (and I was always sleeping between this time), one day I made up mind to join.

So before joining there were other big hurdles – oh yes I’m fashion conscious- all Speedo! So a swim wear, swim cap, I left goggles thinking it will be too much – special shower gel, sunscreen the list was growing. And then finally I was ready for a dive in the pool.
The way I entered all geared up in costume my coach did think I’m a professional. And I entered water and stood and stood for long. Finally he came and asked “first day??”. I was as shy as I was in junior school and teacher would say “first day??”. He taught me few basics – and I think I can float now. He says in next 10 days I would be able to swim well.
I’m very committed and I do want to learn it. Till now its fun – coach is bollywood ishtyle – he doesn’t even step into water and he is coaching us imagine – but I’m a good learner or may be I have inherited the art. I think I would soon be replicating my mom who is just waiting to have a competition with me… I have to try hard!!!

Labels:

6 Comments:

  • At 7:28 PM, Blogger SiD said…

    Great... you are learning swimming..Its one of the best exercises - working all the body parts ...
    And so much gear..we guys (most of them I believe)just put on the trunks and jump in the pool...never even thought of goggles, gel shel or sun screen creams!!!!!!
    I also learnt a bit in the college and can do floating and 10 - 20 metrs of swimming.. but never really practiced it.. at office it was merely for relaxing after squash/gym....just standing on the side, along the wall enjoying the comfort of water..:)
    Though last time I did, it was without a professional life guard in 80 ft deep natural waters where I almost drowned 2 of my friends along - (wrote abt it here - http://guftagoo.blogspot.com/search/label/Holi)

    All the Best... I hope within 2 weeks you will be able to cross the breadth of the poool!!

     
  • At 11:20 PM, Blogger Unknown said…

    dont get me wrong - you really come across as superficial. want to appear deep, but are as superficial as the gift wrapped box of shit.

    from the columns written so far - it seems you have a huge super ego, want to impress everyone by looking and acting cute as an innocent school going girl and on the other hand try to sound as deep as arundhati roy. and from your tip top fashion line - i think you have a bigger ego for your physical assets, which young lady, are not going to last long.

    girl come around. it seems you are in a way too a confused state of mind. get a grip on realities. stop day dreaming. from what i gather from your musings - you dont have a happy family either and yearn to have one or want to project as having one.

    Also somehow from your lifes like that post, there have been some bad experiences in the past of your life which have hurt you real deep. maybe a cheater of a lover or some type of public humiliation. i dunno what, but there definitely are scars still to heal. and these are still hounding you.

    why am i being so blunt and what my business here? - well, just my musings. and i am not an indian either. if you wanna interact more and find logical solutions - mail to greatest.indian at gmail. cheerz mate

     
  • At 12:14 PM, Blogger NehaPandey said…

    Hahah, I cant ztop laughin. you are funny.. what u call ur Great Indian (GI). So GI I havnt thot so deep abt u as much u did, so it doesnt matter if you 've been right or wrong in ur comments but thanks.. for takin out time.. I had fun reasin ur comments..See im still ROFL :D

     
  • At 10:37 PM, Blogger Unknown said…

    This comment has been removed by the author.

     
  • At 1:21 PM, Blogger Unknown said…

    i only wanted to know which village u wer refering to?

     
  • At 11:05 AM, Blogger pbansal said…

    This comment has been removed by the author.

     

Post a Comment

<< Home